OPENING 2019

MENU
Odette

Embracing History

Built to serve boatmen on the Delaware River in 1794, the original River House was a favorite stopover for drinking and gambling, as well as a place to rest.  When the Delaware Canal opened in 1830, the River House became a landing for coal barges making their way to New York; as the coal industry stagnated, the once-thriving establishment closed their doors.  In the 1930s, New Hope experienced a renaissance as a tourist town, and the site of the River House became the town’s first hotel. Odette Myrtil Logan purchased the hotel in 1961 by former screen star, who renamed it Chez Odette and transformed it into a landmark French bistro complete with Parisian-style live entertainment, including a cabaret and piano bar.  Today, The Riverhouse at Odette’s weaves the rich history of its footprint into a lively new incarnation with a mill façade that dates to the 1700s, an art wall constructed from the original stone used at Odette’s, and art and photography that celebrate the site’s rich history.

 

Scroll Down
Scroll Down